Reviews

Review: Thirty-Three and a Half Shenanigans

Thirty-Three and a Half Shenanigans
Thirty-Three and a Half Shenanigans by Denise Grover Swank

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Shenanigans!

Thirty-Three and a Half Shenanigans was such a fast read for me! I enjoyed the pacing among all of the shenanigans involving Rose and Neely Kate. Two plots converged into one and were wrapped up in a nice bow very quickly at the end. However, the story was so laser-focused on the mystery at hand that much of the over-arching mysteries of the series took a back seat. I really want to see much more about Rose’s relationship with Violet, Rose’s mother’s history, Joe’s true intentions, and the mess with JR Simmons.

At one point Denise had me convinced that Mason had gone dark side. I enjoyed seeing Joe in action as the chief deputy, but wish there was more about his ‘partnership’ with Mason in taking down JR Simmons. I thoroughly enjoy Joe and Mason and their budding friendship. It’s begrudging right now, but there’s potential. They’ll be besties soon enough!! Meanwhile, Skeeter’s life on the darkside is quite topsy-turvy! I really feel like I have to root for that fella… he’s got flair. I’m sure Rose’s role as the Lady in Black will bite her in the behind soon enough. I really want to know who will find out first… Mason or Joe?! I’m not sure who would be more furious either, but I feel like it’ll be Joe.

I’m starting to feel there’s some ginger-hate going on given that TWO gingers (Hilary and Deputy Hoffstetter) have a major grudge for all things concerning Rose. Respect the red-heads! Unless they’re evil… which these two clearly are. 🙂

I want to say that Maeve is my MVP of this installment. She’s sweet, she’s observant, she’s caring, and she’s honest (as far as I can tell.) I love her!!

I’m still very satisfied with this installment of the Rose Gardner Mysteries! I’ll be eagerly waiting for the next novella and book! *****Five stars*****

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

