Reviews

Review: The Curse Defiers

The Curse Defiers
The Curse Defiers by Denise Grover Swank

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Curse Defiers is quite the whirlwind read! I went in expecting the unexpected and I got more than I bargained for. Ellie’s relationship with David is kind of sweet. And he’s not at all like Collin, so that alone gets bonus points from me. Not only is Ellie being harassed in her role as Curse Keeper, she’s also pieced together memories of her mother’s death. Her very existence boils down to careful manipulation by a god. I won’t tell you which one here, you’ll have to find that out for yourself.

Claire takes a small role in aiding Ellie, and I truly hope we see more of her abilities in future installments! There’s a character death that I was hoping wasn’t true until it was revealed. Collin also redeemed himself for me. I won’t say how, but he did it. That does not mean I want to see him and Ellie together just because they were made for each other. It has to happen naturally, and the man’s got some hefty competition with David around. And this coming from a person who despises love triangles!

I have to say that I was so terribly heartbroken for Ellie for multiple reasons! I felt such a heavy sense of loss as the story closed out. I’m absolutely anxious for the novella featuring Collin. I wish I could time travel and read it now! The fourth book of the series is even farther away, but you can bet I’ll be reading it!

Finally: Okeus. Go away. You creepy weirdo. And Ahone? You’re terrible, too. Love, me! 😉 *****FIVE STARS*****

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

