Uncategorized

Review: DEBT

DEBT
DEBT by Nina G. Jones
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I had the pleasure of beta reading Debt for Nina G. Jones. I thought I was going to read it in one day, but it took me two! From beginning to end, it was one wild ride. And I mean WILD. I’ll spare you the lengthy summary, since you may read that on the book’s page. The story is about a man seeking revenge for a heinous act done to someone he knew fourteen years earlier. Mia is the last itty-bitty loose end in his revenge master plan. All hell breaks loose! I’ll tell it to you as I told Nina: These are some gloriously effed up characters. They’re effing crazy and then I hate them… then I love them… then I hate them again… then I’m rooting for them. It’s exhausting!

What I find most interesting about this story is that I fell in love with Tax at the end, but thoroughly hated him for at least 50% of the book. I’m not talking about how I felt about Strapped series’ Taylor Holden… I just didn’t trust his ass. Tax? I HATED HIM! He’s the emperor of alphas. Completely despicable more often than he isn’t. Then he won me over. Just like that. I can’t explain that turn of logic to you without giving away the story, so you must read it.

Mia is a complex character. She’s a GOOD person, too trusting, too giving, and lordy she does not question enough. I can’t tell you how many times I muttered, “Oh for crying out loud” in reference to something she said, did, didn’t say, or didn’t do. She drove me batty.

Jude is a character who needed to be treated with kid gloves. From the beginning, she comes off as unstable. That sense of unpredictability never goes away. I never trusted her. They say a broken heart is blind, and her’s certainly is. It’s just broken in a way that can’t be repaired. Jude is tragic.

Just when you think things are winding down, and everything is going to be wrapped up with a nice little bow, you’ll realize you’ve only read a few chapters. Debt is a lengthy read, and WELL worth it. There’s just not enough ways I can say that you must read this story. It’s DARK, twisted, crazy, and so fricken fantastic. Parts of it set me off down memory lane, and not in a good way, but kudos to Nina for being able to evoke such a clear image in my head. At times it seemed like they were people I actually knew in the late 90s. The “early” days in the story felt so familiar and I really identified with the younger characters.

May I give more than five stars?! Because this book is worth it. I cannot wait to see what Nina G. Jones comes up with next! *****FIVE STARS*****

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

