Uncategorized

Review: This Is Your Destiny

This Is Your Destiny
This Is Your Destiny by Denise Grover Swank

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

**Possible spoilers ahead! Please do not read if you have not read the first three books and two novellas of the The Curse Keepers series!**

**My review is based on my NetGalley copy**

This novella answered almost everything I wanted to know about how Collin F. Dailey ended up in the restaurant with Ellie Dare Lancaster to break the curse in The Curse Keepers. After reading this one, I absolutely understand his intentions in all three books released so far. I also understand why he is always so reluctant to share his information with Ellie <— this is something I always wanted to know! I’ve always wanted to reach through the book and slap some sense into him!

There’s a lot of manipulation and lies that comes with all of the gods and monsters of this world and it’s absolutely infuriating! Obviously they can’t all be straightforward with their intentions all of the time, so we’re left with characters who are struggling to make sense of it all. That’s where Collin seems to be stuck. Before this novella I always loved to HATE Collin, but now I don’t quite feel the same. My opinion was already changing in The Curse Defiers. He was made to believe that the Dare Keeper was essentially being trained to kill him one day, so he did his best to guard himself around Ellie. I think most of us know that isn’t at all the case, but Collin had no way of knowing the truth of the matter going in.

I think the timing of this novella is perfect, too. Reading this before The Curse Defiers would have given too much information too soon. I enjoyed the backstory of Collin’s family. We’ve always seen so much of Ellie’s and NOTHING of Collin’s. His whole family is so terribly splintered, but I wonder if his grandmother or brother will come back to play a role in future books? His grandmother’s knowledge could be useful if she can set aside what she thinks she knows about the Dare family and their role in the bigger picture. I would like to see him repair his relationship with Connor, his brother. I would also like to know what exactly happened to Collin’s father since the mystery of his disappearance remains (not that anyone misses him)!

I always thought that the two Keepers should work together, and now I’m sure of it. Everything I’ve seen thus far tells me they need each other whether or not they like it. Both Collin and Ellie have a lot of work head for them. They’ve got to somehow piece their lives back together while fighting crazy gods and monsters. I’m sure it’ll be one heck of a ride! I am absolutely excited to see where the series goes next! *****FIVE STARS*****

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

