Uncategorized

Penned Con 2015

I attended Penned Con in St. Louis, Missouri this weekend. AND IT WAS AWESOME! I met some of my most favorite authors, put faces and voices with people I know online, and had a lot of fun. Read on for my takeaway and many pictures!

My takeaway from Penned Con St. Louis​!

1- Do it for Action for Autism​!
2- There’s not enough hours in the day to do everything and see everyone… so don’t stretch yourself thin.
3- Emily R Pearson​ and Tami Carter​ know how to party. (I don’t… in case you weren’t witness to my complete social awkwardness.)
4- Joanna Slingo Morris​ and Doni Imes​ are adorable and sweet! Make them your friends! (I wish we hung out more, I’m an idiot and suck at reading people. I’m sorry! Again with the social awkardness.)
5- Be prepared to cry during keynote speeches. Denise Grover Swank​ brought the feels. She’s an inspiration. Make her your friend if you haven’t already!
6- The Miles’ family is totally awesome. Thank you for everything Rick Miles​, Amy Miles​, and co!
7- Bring an extra suitcase just for books and swag. Even if you don’t BUY books, you may unexpecteldy win a dozen or so and not have anywhere to put them! (True story…my checked-bag couldn’t have fit another straw inside it, but it came in at 40 pounds! I had to carry another 20-pounds in a tote. My shoulder hurts. I got fussed at by a flight attendant because it wouldn’t fit perfectly under the seat. Pfft.)
8- This is the SECOND time I’ve been in St. Louis and didn’t have time to visit the touristy stuff. Give yourself an extra day or two just to do it all. The St Louis Zoo alone is HUGE and could easily fill an entire day.
9- Take more pictures. Pictures are always a last thought for me. Also…social awkwardness.
10- SOCIAL FRICKEN AWKWARDNESS…and this is more for myself than for anyone else… Don’t be afraid to talk to people. I tend to shut down in crowds. And I certainly did here. If people don’t talk to me, I don’t talk to them. I’ll sit in a corner (as I did frequently this weekend) and just be boring. It’s not on purpose. I don’t get anxious, I just feel like an outcast because I just don’t know people. NEXT TIME: I’m just gonna talk to people. I’ll find JoAnna S. Morris​ and Emily R. Pearson – Author​ and hang on for dear life. I’ll also find Denise Grover Swank – Author​ and beg her to adopt me. Nevermind that I’m 32. There’s always room for one more, right?! 😀 ❤

Penned Con is an amazing event full of information, wonderful people, and brilliant authors. It’s exhausting, but a good kind of exhausting. I learned a lot…I don’t know about you guys, but I took notes during the panels and speeches. I love learning!

This has gone on long enough. I’m getting ranty. Lack of sleep. Can’t blame this one on social awkwardness. Thank you!

An official photo from K Keeton Designs of me and my little sis at the Masquerade Ball
An official photo from K Keeton Designs of me and my little sis at the Masquerade Ball
Me (red dress) checking out a table!
Me (red dress) checking out a table!
Me and Amy Miles
Me and Amy Miles
Me and Denise Grover Swank
Me and Denise Grover Swank
Me and Trisha Leigh (Lyla Payne)
Me and Trisha Leigh (Lyla Payne)
Me and Alice Clayton
Me and Alice Clayton
Me and Amy Daws (on her birthday!)
Me and Amy Daws (on her birthday!)
Me and my sis on the St Louis Metrolink after making the train JUST on time. Barely.
Me and my sis on the St Louis Metrolink after making the train JUST on time. Barely.
Me and my sis at the Masquerade Ball and Awards
Me and my sis at the Masquerade Ball and Awards
Me and Joanna Slingo Morris at the Masquerade Ball and Awards
Me and Joanna Slingo Morris at the Masquerade Ball and Awards
Me and my sis on the plane. Her first plane ride ever!
Me and my sis on the plane. Her first plane ride ever!
I won a gift card from Hollie the Editor! Woot!
I won a gift card from Hollie the Editor! Woot!
Books by Amy Miles, Eva Pohler, and Wendy Owens won in a raffle. Penned Con notepads won in a silent auction.
Books by Amy Miles, Eva Pohler, and Wendy Owens won in a raffle. Penned Con notepads won in a silent auction.
I pulled The Fates from Eva Pohler
I pulled The Fates from Eva Pohler

11751428_10153325284387034_4360403093567651144_n

The locket I won in the book raffle along with Eva Pohler's books. It's perfect!
The locket I won in the book raffle along with Eva Pohler’s books. It’s perfect!
The locket I won in the book raffle along with Eva Pohler's books. It's perfect!
The locket I won in the book raffle along with Eva Pohler’s books. It’s perfect!
My favorite swag!
My favorite swag!
Amy and Rick Miles
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
My Penned Con autograph book
Denise Grover Swank
My Penned Con autograph book
Leave a Reply

