Uncategorized

Review: Not Quite True

Not Quite True
Not Quite True by Lyla Payne
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

It’s a Mystery Trifecta

I loved every moment of reading Not Quite True! Once I started reading, I could not put it down!

Not Quite True picks up almost exactly where Not Quite Cold left off. Beauregard Drayton is being indicted and a new ghost has stopped for a visit. It is not long before Gracie picks up another spare ghost and the real fun and games begin! The resolution for one of these ghosts left me feeling so happy.

With Beau’s impending trial, we get to see a side to Heron Creek that we have not before. Hint: they fiercely support their own! Clete and his moonshining pals also make an appearance. They’re endearing, and in spite of their scare tactics, I quite like them!

The ramifications of the curse and the murderous Mrs. Labadie still lingers. Which has serious repercussions for Amelia. My heart breaks for Millie, because she has already been through so much. Fortunately, a family and friends who love her surround her. I have hope for her and the unborn baby (and the baby’s name is revealed!)

The twist, yes…there’s a twist. You are reading a mystery, after all. I didn’t realize what was going on until Gracie was neck deep in trouble (let’s face it, when is she NOT in trouble?) Kudos for the clever writing. The scenes involving the reveal left me truly terrified for Gracie.

Lyla captures life in the small-town south very well. Even more so, she nailed the SC weather perfectly. I do not live in a coastal region right now, but I used to. The heat and humidity in South Carolina is completely unforgiving. When it is hot, it is unbearable. Sea breeze or not! I fully appreciated the “sweating between the boobs” references. #thestruggleisreal

Given their penchant for trouble, I’m certain that Graciela Harper and Rose Gardner (Rose Gardner Mysteries by Denise Grover Swank) were separated at birth. I may have mentioned this before, but it bears repeating! 😉

Finally…as if things could not get crazier… just wait until you get to the end! That is all I’m going to say about that.

I am eager to continue with the novella (Quite Curious) head of the August 18 release date of Not Quite Gone, the fourth book in the series. *****FIVE STARS*****

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

