Uncategorized

Review: The Melody of Light

The Melody of Light
The Melody of Light by M.L. Rice
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I will not lie… I was drawn to this book by the cover. I’m a string musician myself (violin.) I was drawn further by the synopsis. However, The Melody of Light failed to deliver on my expectations. It is a good book, but is lacking as a whole. It falls into both the YA and NA categories. There’s even representation of the LGBT community, so I appreciate the diversity.

I rant into a spell where I read a lot of books about young adults who had broken childhoods. The Melody of Light stands out as one of the better ones! What I like here is that ML Rice wrote strong leading characters in Riley and Aiden. In spite of their hardships, they keep pushing forward. However, many of the supporting characters are far more shallow. I find love triangles tiresome as well.

The Melody of Light is a good coming of age story. While it’s not all sunshine and daisies, the ending is earned. ***3.5 stars***

I reviewed an advance copy for NetGalley.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

