Uncategorized

Review: Return Once More

Return Once More
Return Once More by Trisha Leigh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Return MANY more times!

Trisha Leigh’s Return Once More is a wonderfully woven story. It crosses genres in a magnificent way. You get a big dose of history, with some sci-fi, young adult romance, and you’re left with wanting to return again and again! As I always do with my reviews, I’ll spare you the synopsis… the author’s one is better than mine anyway!

There’s not much that I didn’t like about Return Once More. Trisha’s writing style is in fine form, as I’d expect nothing less from her! She put’s her historical knowledge to great use here… and combining it with time travel is the icing on the cake for me! (Wibbly, wobbly, timey, wimey, anyone?!) If I had to choose any one thing that bugged me about this otherwise magnificent story, it’s the ability to find your soulmate (called a “true companion”.) I don’t find it to be a realistic or meaningful use of what one might consider futuristic technology.

The one thing I adored the most about Return Once More is Trisha’s mastery of historical events, and the way she interpreted them for the means of this installment of the story. I felt transported to each of the eras covered. Painstaking probably doesn’t accurately depict the effort she had to put into getting these details spot on. When I think about world building, I can’t think of a finer recent example of what you should do in establishing not just one “world”, but many!

I love a good cliffhanger, and Return Once More has a fabulous teasing one that is one of the best I’ve seen in a long time. I’m ready for the second installment now, but I suppose I’ll just have to wait since I sadly don’t have the ability to skip around time. *****4.5 STARS****

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

