Uncategorized

Review: Recombinant

Recombinant
Recombinant by Shannon Mayer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Double Troube – Wow!

What do you get when you merge the talents of Denise Grover Swank and Shannon Mayer? MAGIC! That’s what! Recombinant is nothing short of brilliant. It’s different, and in a sea of cookie-cutter vampire urban fantasies, that really means something. It’s got a little bit of everything I desire in an excellent book: solid character development, top notch world building, a page turning plot, and last but not least: magic!

Lea and Rachel are two bad-a heroines. One a vampire, the other a reporter. Together they are one heck of a duo… just like their authors! I’ll spare you the synopsis, but Recombinant goes places I wasn’t expecting. I love a good suspenseful mystery combined with government conspiracies, monsters, and vampires. ❤

I will read anything Denise publishes. Each time she takes her talent to a new level. With Recombinant, I’d like to say I know both Shannon’s and Denise’s writing voices well enough, but I actually can’t tell you who wrote what! I haven’t enjoyed a vampire series this much since Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles. Considering Shannon Mayer’s inspirations, that makes perfect sense. I’m in love with what Denise and Shannon have created and cannot wait until the next book! *****FIVE STARS*

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review, but I already had it pre-ordered. 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

