Uncategorized

Review: RUSH

RUSH
RUSH by Emma Scott
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Every now and then someone just appears out of the clear blue sky and shakes you to your core. Recently I came across Emma Scott…or rather she came to me via Nicky Crawford. RUSH and the companion novella Endless Possibility have it me right where it hurts.

I play the violin, or rather, I used to. Sure, I still have my violin. I still love music. I’m still a snob about it. However, it’s now just a thing I used to do. That I can do, but suck at doing. Unlike the character of Charlotte Conroy, my passion for performance faded long ago and never came back. A lot has happened and a lot never happened. I could play the blame game. I could say that my college professor was terrible (she was denied tenure.) I could say that life just got in the way (it did.) But it really doesn’t matter anymore. It’s a failed endeavor. Every time I look at my violin, or even listen to my favorite pieces of music, I can’t help but feel a twang of pain for what might have been. I have a million regrets in my life, and this is unequivocally one of the biggest.

Which brings me to RUSH. Clearly I identify with Charlotte the most, only I was never as gifted a musician. Noah is harsh, but Charlotte is smart enough to realize it’s all a facade. Sure, that’s rather trope-y, but who really cares?! It makes a fabulous story. I found the journey of her and Noah Lake to be absolutely beautiful. Emma’s talent is undeniable and both RUSH and Endless Possibility are well worth your time and money.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

