Uncategorized

Review: Not Quite Gone

Not Quite Gone
Not Quite Gone by Lyla Payne
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I originally read this title nearly six months ago. I’ve just re-read it since there’s going to be a new release in less than a week.

At one point Gracie Harper says she feels depleted. That’s about how I feel for her. Lyla Payne does a wonderful job of pulling you in and making you feel what her characters feel. Each installment of this Low Country Mystery series seems to get heavier. More laden with stress, grief, and despair. I know there’s a light at the end of the tunnel, and so far it’s been a crazy journey!

Cordelia rates VERY high on my list of fictitious characters I despise. She’s as wicked as high-class money can get. Brick is a character I never expected to somewhat like, but I do. Lyla managed to make him a little more human. Do I trust him? No. Do I feel just a little bit sorry for him? Yes. Nan’s story was completely heart wrenching. There’s not much else I can say on her without divulging spoilers.

I thoroughly enjoyed seeing Gracie begin to take control of her abilities. The best has yet to come. Daria is a fascinating character and I really want to learn more about her. I don’t trust her one iota. Beau? He’s too perfect, and he and Gracie are entirely too over the top. I suppose that’s what makes them so much fun to read. I’m actually sad for Gracie and Beau and where they leave off.

Finally, the curse: The ending left me wanting so much more. Is there really a resolution? It’ll be fascinating to see where it goes. I loved that this installment’s mysteries weren’t entirely random. Everything is connected and I can’t wait to see how! *****FIVE STARS*****

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

