Review: The Chosen Series Complete Box Set

The Chosen Series Complete Box Set
The Chosen Series Complete Box Set by Denise Grover Swank
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I adore the Chosen series. Out of all of Denise’s books, this have always been a stand-out for me. I LOVE the world she created with Emma, Jake, Will, and the other elementals. I have a running fan-fic in my head which seems eerliy similar to the new continuation series Denise recently announced. To date I have not completed my reviews for all of the books and shorts in the series, but below you may find my review for the first one.

For just $10 this collection is a steal. If you’ve read the first one (which is permanently free) and enjoyed it enough to stick with the series, then just buy the whole collection!

This series is thrilling, to say the least! I came into the series well after it was completed, so I was able to binge read through all of it this past spring. I’ve since read the entire series again! Out of all of Denise’s books, my mind is always floating around in this universe the most.

The protagonists of this series are people who have got a lot of growth ahead of them. Emma Thompson, not to be confused with the actress, is such a strong woman, and her son, Jake, is an angel. (My best friend’s oldest child shares the same name, so I may be biased!) That kid is probably the WISEST character in the series. He’s so so so so young, and goes through so much, but somehow he stays strong and has wisdom well beyond his years. I immediately became invested in their well-being. From the start I did not trust Will Davenport, and with good reason. With that said, Will is NOT a bad guy. He’s fiercely protective. And plays a HUGE role in the series. Don’t ever count him out.

The story of Chosen is one about an epic fight of good versus evil. It really is that simple. You’ve got multiple players in a game who all want the same prize. At times in Chosen, just the first in the series, it’s not exactly clear WHY Emma and Jake are running, but you have to hang in there to learn it all. The journey is worth it and it’s a fun ride. By the end of this novel, if you’re anything like me, you’ll be begging for more! The good news is that there are three more novels and three accompanying short stories. Happy reading! *****FIVE STARS*****

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s