Uncategorized

Review: Call Back

Call Back
Call Back by Denise Grover Swank
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Denise Grover Swank is an author I trust. She never ceases to amaze me with her prose, and Call Back is no different. Being the third installment of the Magnolia Steele Mysteries, stakes are REALLY high for Maggie. She’s stuck in a web of danger that looks impossible to get out of. On top of that, who can she trust? Personally, I’d trust absolutely no one in this universe. One character is revealed to have shady, if not down right creepy intentions. I feel vindicated in my complete distrust of said character as soon as he was introduced earlier in the series. On the other hand, two characters I haven’t trusted much are starting to earn more respect from me. I’m sure that’ll all change with the final book. As the “Scream” saying goes… everyone is a suspect and anyone can die.

Call Back even surprised me a couple of times, and that’s a lot for someone who usually figures out the “twist” of a story early on. There’s little I can complain about, because the story is crafted so well. I do have to say that I find Maggie’s decision making skills rather lacking, but what else would expect of someone under extreme duress? I am DYING to see how this series will unfold with the final installment, Curtain Call, later this year. If I could time travel to get the 4th book right now, I would! Bravo, Denise! I absolutely love this series. *****FIVE STARS*****

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

